It’s clear that being in possession of an illegal substance, selling an illegal substance, transporting or manufacturing an illegal substance will result in fines, penalties and punishments by law. However, just because something can result in prison time or heavy fines doesn’t mean the charge will result in a conviction. If you avoid a conviction, you avoid the penalties.
That is why working with your defense attorney is so important. Cocaine laws are extremely harsh in Louisiana, and you could end up in prison for many years without a solid defense. For simply possessing under 28 grams of the drug, you could go to prison for up to five years and face a fine of up to $5,000. If you have more of the drug in your possession, then the penalties increase. If you have, for example, over 400 grams, then you can face up to 60 years in prison and fines of up to $600,000.
Producing or manufacturing the cocaine base comes with extremely harsh penalties. You can face up to 99 years in prison; it’s a life sentence. In some cases, you may not have the option for parole. Fines reach $500,000 if you manufacture or produce cocaine bases.
It’s important to protect yourself against these penalties. Even in the case that a conviction is likely, you can still work with your attorney to mitigate the damage. Many penalties range in severity, and you want to serve the least amount of time and pay the least amount in fines as possible. Your attorney can help make that a reality.
Source: FindLaw, “Louisiana Cocaine Laws,” accessed March 24, 2017