1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » Learn Louisiana’s strict laws regarding marijuana

Learn Louisiana’s strict laws regarding marijuana

On Behalf of | Aug 8, 2016 | Criminal Defense, Drug Charges |

You may think you are safe on the road if you smoked marijuana a few days earlier and are driving your vehicle. You may be surprised to learn that you are still under the influence of marijuana, and if stopped by police, they can charge you with Driving Under the Influence (DUI). A blood alcohol concentration level below .08, which is the legal limit, may result in a DUI charge.

Tetrahydrocabbinal (THC) is a powerful chemical compound found in marijuana. The chemical compounds of THC are absorbed by the body, giving smokers an instant high. The THC chemical will remain in your system longer depending on how much you smoke. Therefore, if you attended a party over the weekend and inhaled, smoked or consumed marijuana orally, then the THC will be detected. If you are stopped by the police, they may charge you with a DUI.

In Louisiana, if you are a first-time drug offender and you are caught with fourteen grams of marijuana, you are charged a fine of $300.00. If you have more than fourteen grams, you may be charged $500.00 and will be sentenced to jail for six months.  If you are a distributor and it is your first offense, you will be incarcerated for five to 30 years. Do not let one night ruin your future.

A DUI can hinder your future career goals. A DUI will haunt you as you apply for jobs, seek promotions at work or try to get a higher education. You may want to hire and consult an experienced attorney to help you get the charges dropped completely. A clean record will mean a new start and a happier life. Having the charges expunged from your record will help you to forget this horrible experience and move on with your future endeavors.