steven j. moore criminal defense & Personal injury attorney

Call For A Free Consultation 225-767-7778

Update: We are open and we are here to help you as we know your needs do not stop. To protect your safety during the COVID-19 crisis, we offer video conferencing and phone conferencing and are available to help you 24/7. Please call or email us today and we will quickly respond!

20 Years of Experience Personal Dedication
You Can Count On

Baton Rouge firefighter arrested on suspicion of DWI

Charges for allegedly operating a vehicle while intoxicated in Louisiana can be complex animals. A charge for drunk driving can include criminal consequences, including the potential for time behind bars and fines. A person's privilege to drive is at stake. Other collateral consequences, from job security to increased insurance rates, can also follow a DWI arrest.

A Baton Rouge firefighter was arrested on suspicion of DWI on March 1. Authorities accuse the man, who serves leads the Baton Rouge Firefighters Association, of DWI-second offense. Louisiana State Police claim that the firefighter was pulled over in Prairieville. The traffic stop led to a DWI investigation and authorities claim that the man refused to submit to a DWI breath test. Police seized the firefighter's driver's license and processed him on the DWI charge. He was later released on $1,300 bond.

Ascension Parish officials arrested the man again on March 11, but the second arrest is related to a prior DWI case. Officials say that the firefighter missed a court hearing in a separate, earlier case. A warrant remained outstanding from that case. Tuesday, officials took the firefighter back into custody on the outstanding warrant.

The fire department recently refused to make a public comment on the fire captain's plight, according to News 2. However, the news report indicates that firefighters need to have a valid driver's license.

In Louisiana, a person arrested for DWI can expect a suspension of their privilege to drive. The law places a short timeline on a person's ability to challenge the suspension. A person must file the proper paperwork within 15 days to challenge the license suspension, which is handled outside of the criminal case.

Source: WBRZ News 2, " News 2 questions lead to BR firefighter's arrest," Chris Nakamoto, March 11, 2014

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Contact Our Firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy