What Are The Penalties For DWI In Louisiana?

Penalties for drunk driving charges in Louisiana are harsh. Depending upon the circumstances of your arrest and the parish in which you are charged, even a first-offense DWI can result in a heavy fine, loss of your driver's license and time in jail.

Chart Of Penalties (Not Including Vehicular Negligent Injury Or Manslaughter)

Misdemeanor first offense, blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is between .08 and .15:

  • Minimum two days in jail, up to six months
  • Up to $1,000 fine, in addition to court costs
  • 90 days driver's license suspension
  • Possible ignition interlock device required
  • Penalties may increase if BAC is above .15

Misdemeanor second offense within a 10-year 'washout' period:

  • Minimum 30 days in jail, up to six months
  • Up to $1,000 fine and court expenses
  • Up to one year driver's license suspension
  • Possible ignition interlock device (IID) requirement
  • Increased penalties for BAC above .15


Felony third offense:

  • Minimum 30 days in jail, up to 10-year prison sentence
  • Possible monitoring device for home confinement
  • Up to $2,000 fine and all court costs
  • Mandatory two-year driver's license suspension
  • Required ignition interlock device (IID)
  • Substance abuse evaluation and driver improvement program
  • Community service up to 30 days
  • Increased penalties for BAC above .15

Felony fourth offense:

  • Minimum 75 days in jail, up to 30 years
  • $5,000 fine plus all court costs
  • Minimum two years driver's license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device (IID) required
  • Expect maximum penalties for BAC above .15

Call Right Away For A Free Consultation

There is ALWAYS an effective defense strategy to help you avoid the harshest penalties for DWI in Louisiana. Call an attorney at the law office of Steven J. Moore, LLC, to discuss your case. We offer a free consultation with an experience criminal defense lawyer. Call us at 225.767.7778 or send an email with a description of your circumstances.